When the Bible uses the word ‘in’ it does not always mean ‘in’. There is so much misunderstanding of this. Jesus, for instance, was not literally in Paul before he was converted.

I have friends who believe this. I don’t. Here is why.

To me, and many others (this idea of Jesus being in everyone a new teaching – unless you read New Age teachings) it is preposterous to think Jesus is in everyone since the cross, but it fits the theology that tries to say Jesus is in everyone and they only need to be told about it, awaken to it, and so then believe it.

NAS Strong’s Version:  Gal 1:16 ….to reveal His Son (hina – in order that) so that I might preach Him among the Gentiles, I did not immediately consult    with flesh and blood,

Notice that the word ‘en’ is not in this Greek manuscript.

The Message 1:16  Now he has intervened and revealed his Son to (en – in, on, through, with, etc) me so that I might joyfully tell non-Jews about him. Immediately after my calling–without consulting anyone around me

Here, the word ‘en’ is translated as ‘to’.

Now, it’s up to you. Believe Jesus is in everyone since the cross. Or don’t. I don’t. Jesus sits at the right hand of God. His spirit is in believers when we believe. Not before. And not literally Jesus. The Holy Spirit.

If we read the passages correctly, there is no support for saying that Jesus is in everyone. Come on. Hitler had Jesus in him? Osama bin Laden? Genghis Khan? Really? What fellowship, the scripture asks, has light with darkness?

Again, it’s up to you. The important thing is that you do know Him. But know also this idea is not in any way crucial to understanding that all are reconciled  to God by Christ.

